From 1890d13fe36afe8e740b44180b492c4bd8327aa6 Mon Sep 17 00:00:00 2001 From: Lennart Kats Date: Mon, 24 Aug 2026 11:09:10 +0200 Subject: [PATCH] Link the /Workspace/Shared bundle warning to the docs FAQ The shared-root-path warning now points to the FAQ on moving a bundle deployment off /Workspace/Shared, and the acceptance golden is regenerated. Co-authored-by: Isaac --- acceptance/bundle/resources/jobs/shared-root-path/output.txt | 4 ++-- bundle/permissions/validate.go | 2 +- 2 files changed, 3 insertions(+), 3 deletions(-) diff --git a/acceptance/bundle/resources/jobs/shared-root-path/output.txt b/acceptance/bundle/resources/jobs/shared-root-path/output.txt index b485c092416..bb59b76bd15 100644 --- a/acceptance/bundle/resources/jobs/shared-root-path/output.txt +++ b/acceptance/bundle/resources/jobs/shared-root-path/output.txt @@ -2,7 +2,7 @@ >>> [CLI] bundle deploy Warning: the bundle root path /Workspace/Shared/[USERNAME]/.bundle/[UNIQUE_NAME] is writable by all workspace users -The bundle is configured to use /Workspace/Shared, which will give read/write access to all users. If this is intentional, add CAN_MANAGE for 'group_name: users' permission to your bundle configuration. If the deployment should be restricted, move it to a restricted folder such as /Workspace/Users/. +The bundle is configured to use /Workspace/Shared, which will give read/write access to all users. If this is intentional, add CAN_MANAGE for 'group_name: users' permission to your bundle configuration. If the deployment should be restricted, move it to a restricted folder such as /Workspace/Users/. For more information, see https://docs.databricks.com/dev-tools/bundles/faqs#move-off-shared Uploading bundle files to /Workspace/Shared/[USERNAME]/.bundle/[UNIQUE_NAME]/files... Deploying resources... @@ -12,7 +12,7 @@ Deployment complete! >>> [CLI] bundle destroy --auto-approve Warning: the bundle root path /Workspace/Shared/[USERNAME]/.bundle/[UNIQUE_NAME] is writable by all workspace users -The bundle is configured to use /Workspace/Shared, which will give read/write access to all users. If this is intentional, add CAN_MANAGE for 'group_name: users' permission to your bundle configuration. If the deployment should be restricted, move it to a restricted folder such as /Workspace/Users/. +The bundle is configured to use /Workspace/Shared, which will give read/write access to all users. If this is intentional, add CAN_MANAGE for 'group_name: users' permission to your bundle configuration. If the deployment should be restricted, move it to a restricted folder such as /Workspace/Users/. For more information, see https://docs.databricks.com/dev-tools/bundles/faqs#move-off-shared The following resources will be deleted: delete resources.jobs.foo diff --git a/bundle/permissions/validate.go b/bundle/permissions/validate.go index dee7326cfa1..c83ab8d6678 100644 --- a/bundle/permissions/validate.go +++ b/bundle/permissions/validate.go @@ -43,7 +43,7 @@ func isUsersGroupPermissionSet(b *bundle.Bundle) diag.Diagnostics { diags = diags.Append(diag.Diagnostic{ Severity: diag.Warning, Summary: fmt.Sprintf("the bundle root path %s is writable by all workspace users", b.Config.Workspace.RootPath), - Detail: "The bundle is configured to use /Workspace/Shared, which will give read/write access to all users. If this is intentional, add CAN_MANAGE for 'group_name: users' permission to your bundle configuration. If the deployment should be restricted, move it to a restricted folder such as /Workspace/Users/.", + Detail: "The bundle is configured to use /Workspace/Shared, which will give read/write access to all users. If this is intentional, add CAN_MANAGE for 'group_name: users' permission to your bundle configuration. If the deployment should be restricted, move it to a restricted folder such as /Workspace/Users/. For more information, see https://docs.databricks.com/dev-tools/bundles/faqs#move-off-shared", }) }